Vermont’s Residential Contractor Registry Requirement

After 5 years and following the Secretary of State’s Sunrise Report on the need for a residential contractor registry in Vermont, it has become law. To read the full extent of the Statute please go to

Key points with this bill for contractors and homeowners are:

  • All aspects of the law begin April 1, 2023
  • Registration for contractors began on December 1, 2022, required by April 1, 2023 and with a reduced fee for early registrants
  • Registration is required for individuals or companies doing working over $10,000 (time and materials) and work must be accompanied by a contract – not an estimate’
  • Registration must include evidence of insurance as defined by the Statute
  • Homeowners can check to see if contractors are registered.
  • Voluntary certification of ongoing learning is encouraged and will be posted